top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStevee P

Part 1: My Testimony: The Question I Was Afraid to Answer

Updated: Jan 7, 2018

"Should Christians be a part of sororities and fraternities?" he asked. To be honest, at the time I was fearful to respond. The fear of expressing a level of truth that would cause people to reflect, rethink, and research was not something I felt confident in doing.


That was then. This is now. I'm not afraid anymore.


There are a lot of things that are available to us that appear to be good. From food choices, relationships, events, and even organizations. Now, I do not proclaim to know everything because I do not. What I do know is that I am responsible for sharing what God has shared with me. Let me start off with my own mess.


If you ever want to make God laugh, tell Him your life plans!

I already had it planned out! I grew up around loved ones who were a part of a variety of organizations. These organizations presented themselves as positive influences for the local community and beyond. Nothing appeared to be ungodly. In fact, most of them had words or phrases that promoted their stance on being founded on christian principles. Being a christian and admiring these acts of service led to my desire to join one in college, so I did.


In college, I served as the chapter's president of the sorority on campus. I enjoyed leading, hosting events, working with the unique group of ladies that I developed a bond with, parties, and so much more. To be honest, there were moments some of things I decided to do did contradict with my beliefs but that was by choice.

I was a person others felt comfortable to ask about being a christian in the organization. Out of ignorance (lack of knowledge) and arrogance, I would express my views on how the organization was built on christian principles and how some Christians went too deep if they thought otherwise. I misjudged, was very hypocritical at times, and spoke from a lack of true knowledge (a lot of surface level info and not biblical). I encouraged people to pray about their decision, prayed with them, and even tooted my own horn on how my love for God was more than the love for the organization. Little did I know, He was preparing me for that very act of obedience.

Clean Up. Contact. Move On.

Fast forward to 2016. By this time, I settled in to my life after college in NC. I knew changes were taking place but did not know that God was about to shake my life up again. I was in prayer one day when He said clean up, contact, and move on. Now, I knew exactly what He was referring to because my heart was beginning to change towards the organization. Things that never crossed my mind before began to such as: the level of secrecy, the words in the songs, chants, and doctrines, and the spiritual implication behind it all. Did I want to submit to Him at first? NO! I cried like a big baby for a long time because I was frustrated, confused, and afraid. Then He revealed another problem: Hidden Idol. He revealed to me that the organization was an hidden idol in my life.


Now, I had a choice: Do what God asked of me or ignore Him.

Obedience is better than sacrifice. I chose Him. I went through a depression, lost a lot of close friends and relationships, rejection, being the topic of conversations, open rebuke from people who are a part of these organizations, and more.

We as Christians can make choices out of a lack of knowledge and pride.

It has been a journey and a process but I would not change any of it. Why? Because I am learning that God uses our mess for His glory. I dare not act like I have all the answers nor understanding of every intricate detail because I DO NOT. One thing I have learned is to trust God at all cost.


My Prayer: Show Me What's In My Heart

This prayer was inspired by Psalm 139: 23-24. My heart was a HOT MESS! Idolatry is a beast. Before you point the finger at the people in the Old Testament, you may need to go to God yourself and ask Him to show you your heart.

Jeremiah 17:9 talks about the human heart being deceitful. There is no good thing in our flesh or apart from God. With that being said, it is possible to be a born again, blood washed, sanctified, and scripture quoting Christian with a messy heart. That is why He is continuously cleaning each of us until His return (check out Philippians 1:6 and Romans 3:23).


Our role is to be willing to be transformed.

The Journey to Healing, Deliverance, and Restoration

Healing is necessary for anyone who experiences trauma. When God separates you from something it hurts! Especially if you love it! The purpose is not to kill but to actually heal you. His Word talks about Him being a jealous God. He will not share our affection for Him with anyone or anything else. What does that mean? God desires for us to love Him and honor Him as God of our lives. Anytime we have anything or anyone else in that spot, it is dangerous and costly. So, He will give us the opportunity to remove it, repent, and be restored (check out the stories of the Israelities in the Old Testament!)

The purpose of this is to be transparent in order for God to get the glory and use this to enlighten and empower others. Check out Part 2 for more.


179 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page